HomeEspresso Machines › Barista Express Impress profile

📋 Machine Profiles · 2026

Breville Barista Express Impress (BES876): Verified Specifications

The BES876 from Breville's own materials: 25 grind settings, Intelligent Dosing, 10 kg assisted tamping and a manual steam wand, at $649.95.

Written and reviewed by the CoffeeLabAdvisor editorial team · Published 8 September 2026

7 facts, each with a source below 7 questions answered 3 verified products

The Breville Barista Express Impress (BES876) is an all-in-one espresso machine listed at $649.95 that adds Breville's Impress dosing and tamping system to the Barista Express format. Breville's own listing states an integrated conical burr grinder with 25 grind settings, Intelligent Dosing that calculates and adjusts the dose and then auto-corrects the next one, assisted tamping that applies a consistent 10 kg of pressure with a 7-degree barista twist, and a manual steam wand. It carries no score on this site because we have not completed an evaluation of it.

On this page
  1. Why this page documents rather than scores
  2. What Breville's own materials state
  3. Against its siblings, honestly
  4. Who this machine appears to be designed for
  5. Verified products
  6. FAQ
Breville Barista Express Impress (BES876)

Documented, not scored

Breville Barista Express Impress (BES876)

Model
BES876 (BES876BSS brushed stainless)
Listed price
$649.95
Grinder
Integrated conical burr, 25 grind settings
Dosing
Intelligent Dosing, auto-corrects the next dose
Tamping
Assisted, consistent 10 kg with a 7-degree twist
Milk
Manual steam wand, hand-textured microfoam
Score
Not published — scores are published for award winners

$649.95Live Amazon price · as of 09/12/2026 12:02 AM

Check price on Amazon →

Specifications verified 2026-09-08 against the maker's own materials, listed in full at the foot of this page. This machine holds no 2026 CoffeeLab Award, so no score is published for it — why that is deliberate.

Why this page documents rather than scores

CoffeeLabAdvisor publishes a score only for CoffeeLab Award winners. That is an editorial choice, not a gap: the awards exist to name what is excellent, and a published number attached to everything else would turn a celebration into a league table. Machines we have not given an award are documented here instead — specifications from the maker's own materials, what those materials do not state, and honest context against machines that did win.

So this page carries no score, and none is pending. What it carries is checkable: every figure below is attributed, and where the maker publishes nothing we say so rather than filling the gap. Our editorial standards set out where the evidence stops.

What Breville's own materials state

Every figure here is Breville's, taken from its copy on the verified listing and repeated without embellishment.

SpecificationBreville's stated figure
GrinderIntegrated conical burr grinder, 25 grind settings
DosingIntelligent Dosing: automatically calculates and adjusts the level of fresh coffee for a precise dose, and auto-corrects the next dose
TampingAssisted tamping replicating a barista's action: 7-degree barista twist finish, consistent 10 kg of pressure
Milk systemManual steam wand, described as turning milk into microfoam for latte art
Listed price$649.95

Three things Breville's listing copy for this machine does not state, and which we therefore do not claim: a heat-up time or heating-system name, a portafilter diameter, and a water tank capacity. Its siblings publish those figures, and the absence here is worth noticing rather than filling in from a neighbouring model. If any of the three decides your purchase, ask Breville before you buy.

What the stated figures do tell you is where this machine's engineering effort went. Intelligent Dosing and 10 kg assisted tamping both attack the same problem, which is that dosing and tamping are where a beginner's shots go wrong and where the variation between one morning and the next actually comes from. That is a different design goal from a faster heater or a larger drink menu.

Against its siblings, honestly

Three machines here carry a published score from us; the Impress does not. The comparison is therefore about format and price, not about quality.

MachinePriceGrind settingsMilk2026 award standing
Barista Express Impress (BES876)$649.9525Manual wandNone
Barista Express$68515Manual wandHonorable Mention
Barista Pro$85030Manual wandHonorable Mention
Barista Touch Impress$1,47930Auto MilQNone

The awkward fact for anyone shopping this range: the Impress lists below the Barista Express, a 2026 Honorable Mention, while offering more grind settings and adding the dosing and tamping assistance the Express does not have. On the stated specifications it looks like the better buy of the two. We are not going to tell you it is, because we have not evaluated it, and the Express’s award standing rests on a completed evaluation while the Impress's specification list rests on a listing. That asymmetry is real and you should weigh it, but you should also know it exists.

If you want the range laid out properly, the Breville brand hub puts every machine we have reviewed in price order, and our Express versus Pro comparison covers the two scored all-in-ones in detail.

Who this machine appears to be designed for

Read the stated features as a description of an intended buyer rather than a promise about the cup. Intelligent Dosing and assisted tamping remove the two steps that most often go wrong for someone new to a portafilter, and the machine keeps a manual steam wand rather than automating milk. That combination points at a buyer who wants help with the puck but wants to learn milk by hand, which is a coherent and slightly unusual position: most machines automate milk before they automate dosing.

The buyer it does not obviously serve is the one who wants speed. Nothing in Breville's copy for this machine claims a fast heater, and the siblings that do claim one say so prominently. If brew-to-steam waiting is your complaint, the machines that publish a heat-up figure are the ones to look at, and our beginner machine guide covers that trade.

Verified products for this page

ℹ️ Affiliate disclosure: CoffeeLabAdvisor is an Amazon Associate and may earn a commission from these links, at no extra cost to you. Commissions play no part in what appears here — every product traces to a verified catalog entry or a published review.

Machines we have actually evaluated, for placement. The Impress is not among them and carries no score.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Breville Barista Express and the Barista Express Impress?

On the stated specifications: the Impress has 25 grind settings against the Express's 15, and adds Intelligent Dosing that auto-corrects the next dose plus assisted tamping at a consistent 10 kg. Both use a manual steam wand. The Impress lists at $649.95 against the Express at $685. The Express holds a 2026 Honorable Mention; the Impress holds no award.

How many grind settings does the Barista Express Impress have?

25, per Breville's own listing, from an integrated conical burr grinder. That sits between the Barista Express at 15 and the Barista Pro at 30.

What is the Impress Puck System?

Breville's name for the combination of Intelligent Dosing and assisted tamping. Its listing states the machine calculates and adjusts the dose automatically, auto-corrects the next dose, and tamps with a 7-degree barista twist at a consistent 10 kg of pressure.

Does the Barista Express Impress have an automatic milk frother?

No. Breville's listing describes a manual steam wand for hand-textured microfoam. The automatic milk system in this family is Auto MilQ, which appears on the Barista Touch Impress, a considerably more expensive machine.

How much does the Breville Barista Express Impress cost?

$649.95 as listed at the time we verified the specifications. Breville discounts heavily in November, and our Breville Black Friday page tracks the everyday reference price a genuine discount has to beat.

Does CoffeeLabAdvisor score the Barista Express Impress?

No. We publish a score only for CoffeeLab Award winners, so most machines we document carry no public score and none is pending. This page gives you Breville's own stated specifications, marks what Breville does not state, and sets the machine beside those that did win an award.

Does the Barista Express Impress heat up in 3 seconds?

Breville's listing copy for this machine states no heat-up time and names no heating system, so we do not claim one. The ThermoJet three-second figure belongs to machines whose listings state it, such as the Barista Touch and the Barista Touch Impress.

Sources for this page: All Barista Express Impress specifications (25 grind settings, Intelligent Dosing with auto-correction, assisted tamping at 7 degrees and 10 kg, manual steam wand, $649.95): Breville's own copy on the verified Amazon listing B0BBYNPV33 (BES876BSS) via the Creators API, read 2026-09-08 · Comparison figures for the Barista Express, Barista Pro and Barista Touch Impress: our published review records and machine profile for those machines · Absences are stated as absences: Breville's copy for this model gives no heat-up time, heating-system name, portafilter diameter or tank capacity, and none is inferred here We have not lab-tested brewers; where a figure is a manufacturer's, the page names the manufacturer, and machine capabilities come from our own published review records.

Keep going