Both grind over a built-in scale, suggest a grind setting after every shot and brew espresso and real drip coffee. The Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) trades features for size: it is about a third smaller, has a finer 60-step grinder and a manual steam wand, and drops the Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)'s automatic whisk frother, cold brew, cold-pressed espresso, cold foam and quad shot.
ℹ️
Affiliate disclosure: CoffeeLabAdvisor is an Amazon Associate and may earn a commission from the links below, at no extra cost to you. Commissions play no part in anything this page concludes.
The short answer
Buy the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) if counter space decides it, you will steam milk by hand or drink coffee black, and espresso and a mug of drip coffee are enough. Our record marks it as best for small kitchens that want guided espresso and drip coffee and will steam milk by hand.
Buy the Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) if you want automatic milk, cold brew and cold foam, larger drip sizes up to 18 ounces, and have the counter space. Our record marks it as best for beginners who want espresso, milk drinks, drip and cold brew from one guided machine.
How we can say this: both machines went through the same published evaluation against the same rubric, and each one's full record is on its review page. That is a repeatable, documented comparison; it is not a tasting, and we say so wherever it matters.
Which one should you buy?
Every row below is resolved from the two catalog records, not from a preference of ours; where the records tie, the row says so.
| If what matters most to you is… | Then | Because |
| Milk drinks at a press |
Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) |
it has the automatic whisk-and-steam frother; the Mini's wand is manual |
| Cold brew and cold foam |
Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) |
the Mini has neither mode and no whisk jug |
| A small kitchen |
Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) |
on the catalog dimensions |
| Finer grind adjustment |
Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) |
it has 60 grind settings against 25 |
| The deepest hands-on record |
Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) |
a dozen reviews, including CoffeeGeek's 233 recorded shots, against one full review of the Mini |
| A lighter machine to move |
Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) |
on the catalog weight |
Where each one stands
Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)
—
No 2026 award
Beginners who want espresso, milk drinks, drip and cold brew from one guided machine
vs
Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301)
—
No 2026 award
Small kitchens that want guided espresso and drip coffee and will steam milk by hand
We publish a score only for award winners, on the award page that justifies it, so this comparison is decided
on what the two machines do rather than on a number. In the words of the two review records: the
Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) is Good, consistent espresso with almost no skill, very consistent dosing, and drip coffee, cold brew and cold foam that testers rated. Grind guidance can over-correct, auto milk runs hot, and the US model lacks hot water and a single basket.
The Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) is The Luxe Café's grinder, scale and guidance in a much smaller body, with drip coffee testers rated perfect. Espresso volume varied in testing, the milk is manual, and the cold drinks and hot water are gone. One full review so far.
Neither of these is our 2026 award winner. The Best Overall Espresso Machine award went to the Breville Bambino Plus — a different answer to a different question — and its full scorecard is public on the
award page. This page is a comparison of two review records, not an award.
Spec by spec
| Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) | Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) |
| Machine type | Semi-Automatic | Semi-Automatic |
| Model number | ES601 | ES301 |
| Heating system | Single thermoblock | Single heater |
| Heat-up (manufacturer) | Not stated | Not stated |
| PID temperature control | Not listed | Not listed |
| Manufacturer pressure figure | Not published (sources disagree) | Not published (sources disagree) |
| Portafilter | 53 mm | 54 mm |
| Built-in grinder | Yes | Yes |
| Steam wand | Automatic | Manual |
| Plant-milk rating (ours) | 3 / 5 | 3 / 5 |
| Water tank | 2.1 L | 1.4 L |
| Dimensions (W×D×H) | 34.0 x 33.0 x 37.1 cm | 30.9 x 26.0 x 34.1 cm |
| Weight | 11.7 kg | 8.6 kg |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year |
* Pressure figures are manufacturer-published pump ratings. A pump rating is the pump's maximum, not the pressure at the coffee during a shot, and we have not measured brew pressure on either machine, so the two numbers are shown because the manufacturers publish them, not as comparable measures of extraction. † Marked figures are not confirmed on a manufacturer source for the exact model number listed above; we have left our tracked value in place rather than substitute an unverified one. Plant-milk ratings are our own documented 1–5 scoring, published on each review page.
Portafilter sizes for every machine we cover, with sources, are on our portafilter size chart; footprints are on the dimensions chart.
The price arithmetic
Both machines include their grinder — Built-in grinder: Yes and Yes — so there is no hidden second purchase on either side and the arithmetic is simply the two machine prices.
| Machine | What it is | Live price |
| Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) | Complete setup, grinder built in | $599 |
| Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) | Complete setup, grinder built in | $450 |
At live prices the Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) costs about $149 more than the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301). Prices at retail move, and this figure moves with them; what does not move is what the premium buys, which the sections below take row by row from the two records.
What is the same: the guided espresso
Both machines use Ninja's Barista Assist idea: the grinder sits over a scale, the machine checks how much it ground, and after each shot it recommends a finer or coarser setting based on how long the shot ran. Both use unpressurised double and Luxe baskets and an assisted tamper, and both brew real filter coffee in classic, rich and over-ice styles by switching the grinder to a coarse setting. Neither has hot water in the US.
Where they differ inside is the grinder: the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301)'s has 60 settings against 25, so each step is finer. Tom's Coffee Corner, which has used both families, found the Minis' espresso full-bodied, and TechRadar rated the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301)'s crema perfect every time, though it saw espresso volume vary at identical settings.
What the Mini gives up
The Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) has no automatic milk. Its steam wand is manual, the non-burn design from the Luxe Café Pro according to Tom's Coffee Corner; you choose temperature and texture but hold the jug and stop it yourself. There is no whisk jug, so no cold foam, and no cold brew or cold-pressed espresso, which are two of the Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)'s best-reviewed features. Drip sizes are smaller, a mug rather than up to 18 ounces, the smallest espresso is a double with no quad, and the tank holds 47 ounces against 70. Build is lighter, with plastic sides and back, and TechRadar found the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) light enough to slide as you lock in the portafilter.
If you want the small body with automatic milk, the Mini Plus adds a temperature-probed automatic wand to the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301).
Which one to choose
The question is what you drink and where it goes. For lattes and cappuccinos at a press, iced drinks with cold foam, or a cold brew habit, the Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) is the machine, and its evidence is far deeper. For a narrow counter, black coffee and occasional hand-steamed milk, the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) does the core job in much less space. Compare the live prices on the two cards; the gap between them moves with Amazon's offers.
Both carry Ninja's one-year US warranty. Our guide to every Luxe Café model covers the Pro and Mini Plus as well.
Where each one wins
| Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) | Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) |
| Grind guidance and weight-checked dosing get beginners to a good shot quickly |
Much smaller footprint than the Premier and Pro |
| Real espresso from unpressurised baskets, measured at about 18 g in, 36 g out |
60 grind settings with the same grind guidance and scale |
| Drip coffee, cold brew and cold foam that testers rated highly |
Drip coffee rated perfect every time in hands-on testing |
| Little or no warm-up before the first shot |
Manual wand from the Pro, so you control the milk |
And where each loses — from the same review records:
| Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) | Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) |
| US model has no hot water and no single basket |
Espresso volume varied at identical settings in testing |
| Auto milk runs hot and stiff; plain oat and almond froth weakly |
No cold brew, cold foam or hot water in the US |
| Grind suggestions can swing back and forth |
Light body slides on the counter as you lock the portafilter |
| One-year warranty; plastic dosing funnel reported to crack |
Thin evidence: one full independent review |

Reviewed on our published rubricReviewed
Semi-Automatic · 53 mm portafilter · Built-in grinder · Automatic steam
$599.00Live Amazon price · as of 10/25/2026 10:25 AM
Good, consistent espresso with almost no skill, very consistent dosing, and drip coffee, cold brew and cold foam that testers rated. Grind guidance can over-correct, auto milk runs hot, and the US model lacks hot water and a single basket.
Check price on Amazon → 
Reviewed on our published rubricReviewed
Semi-Automatic · 54 mm portafilter · Built-in grinder · Manual steam
$449.99Live Amazon price · as of 10/25/2026 10:25 AM
The Luxe Café's grinder, scale and guidance in a much smaller body, with drip coffee testers rated perfect. Espresso volume varied in testing, the milk is manual, and the cold drinks and hot water are gone. One full review so far.
Check price on Amazon →
Frequently asked questions
Is the Ninja Luxe Café Mini as good as the Premier?
For espresso and drip coffee, close: both use the same guided grinder and scale, and the Mini's grinder has finer steps. The Premier adds automatic milk, cold brew and cold foam, and has a much deeper hands-on record.
Does the Ninja Luxe Café Mini have automatic milk frothing?
No, the Mini ES301 has a manual steam wand. The Premier has an automatic whisk-and-steam frother, and the Mini Plus ES351 adds an automatic steam wand to the Mini's body.
How much smaller is the Ninja Luxe Café Mini?
Ninja says 30 percent smaller than the Pro. On our catalog figures the Mini is about 31 centimetres wide and 26 deep, against about 34 wide and 33 deep for the Premier.
Sources for this page: every score, spec, pro and con is rendered from the same two records that produce the Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601) review and the Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301) review; manufacturer figures carry the spec source recorded on each catalog entry (Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601): Ninja ES600 Series owner's guide (ES601 IB, 2024), sharkninja.com ES601 page and the Amazon listing B0D45PK5V4, read 2026-10-24: 25-setting conical burr grinder, weight-based dosing, assisted tamper, double and 40 g Luxe baskets, three brew temperatures, 70 oz tank, 1650 W, one-year US warranty, launched 25 July 2024. Ninja's page prints the shipping box as the size and a 0.06 lb weight; size and weight here are reviewers' measurements (CoffeeGeek 34 W x 33 D x 37.1 H cm, 11.7 kg; TechRadar 11.67 kg). 53mm portafilter and a thermoblock over the group per Tom's Coffee Corner (teardown), CoffeeGeek, Coffeeness and Expert Reviews. Hands-on: CoffeeGeek (233 recorded shots, Ninja-supplied), Coffeeness (bought), Tom's Coffee Corner, TechRadar, Tom's Guide, Expert Reviews, Top Ten Reviews, Chowhound (Ninja-supplied), Tasting Table, Coffee Kev (bought), WIRED.) (Ninja Luxe Café Mini (ES301): sharkninja.com ES301 page and the Amazon listing B0GVTV3QTR, read 2026-10-24 (no US owner's guide published for the Mini range): 60-setting conical burr grinder, built-in scale, manual steam wand, double and Luxe baskets, hot or iced drip coffee, 47 oz tank, 250 g hopper, 1650 W, 10.24 D x 12.17 W x 13.43 H in, 18.96 lb, one-year US warranty. Ninja lists 'boiler power' but not the heater type. 54mm portafilter per Tom's Coffee Corner only. Hands-on: TechRadar (full review) and Tom's Coffee Corner's Mini Plus review, which covers both Minis.). We have not physically tested either machine.
Keep going